The 100 Ladies was conceived to empower philanthropic women to take on important projects at the Estate that would be consistent with Charles Deering’s legacy of encouraging art, education and environmental stewardship. The group’s initial project and focus is to provide resources and assistance to furnish the interiors of the historic Richmond Cottage and Stone House. Historic furnishings are the combination of historic spaces, objects and themes. They can evoke a powerful experience for visitors while providing witness to past events and personalities. More than establishing a sense of place, interiors are the actual objects of history because they give form and dimension to history.
The National Register of Historical Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. The Deering Estate at Cutler was officially listed on the National Register of Historic Places on March 16, 1986. The National Park Services’ National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate and protect America’s historical and archeological places. This designation includes the historic structures as well as the interior furnishings in order to foster the historical, cultural, and recreational significance of the Estate. The goal is to represent the overall appearance of the Stone House, Richmond Cottage, outbuildings, grounds and natural areas, as they would have appeared when occupied by Mr. Charles Deering (late 1922) and throughout his life (d.1927).